Security Experts Sophos Find 22 Criminal Android Apps

In this high tech world, it’s more or less impossible to find a way to be ‘offline’ for any length of time without suffering withdrawal or losing business. That’s why it’s so shocking to find criminal apps available for download from trusted portals.

Clickfraud Apps

Recently, owners of Android devices have been warned about the existence of 22 dangerous apps available for download that can affect battery life and leave users with hefty data bills.

Security experts at Sophos have found 22 dangerous apps available for download from Google Play Store that had been download 22 million times. These dangerous ‘clickfraud‘ apps appear to be completely normal but in reality, these apps once loaded, carry out criminal actions in the background.

One of these apps masqueraded as a flashlight with 1 million downloads to its name, it embedded invisible ads that tricked advertising into thinking the ads had been clicked on legitimately, earning the fraudsters shed loads of cash. Although this app did not cause damage or steal personal data, it did steal money from advertisers, drain the battery and run up data bills quickly as the app was constantly running and communicating in the background.

User Reviews

You may think it’s difficult to get caught out with this type of thing, after all, we are smart and don’t just download stuff without checking user reviews. Well, think again because these apps didn’t stand out as being dodgy because users were not connecting quick battery discharge and data bills with a seemingly harmless app. That means there were very few negative reviews against these illegal apps, on the contrary, there were positive reviews meaning the downloads continued.

The good news is these apps have been renewed for the Google Store so they can’t abuse users anymore.

The Danger List

01.Sparkle FlashLight – com.sparkle.flashlight

02.Snake Attack –          com.mobilebt.snakefight

03.Math Solver –            com.mobilebt.mathsolver

04.ShapeSorter –            com.mobilebt.shapesorter

05.Tak A Trip –              com.takatrip.android

06.Magnifeye –              com.magnifeye.android

07.Join Up –                   com.pesrepi.joinup

08.Zombie Killer –         com.pesrepi.zombiekiller

09.Space Rocket –         com.pesrepi.spacerocket

10.Neon Pong –             com.pesrepi.neonpong

11.Just Flashlight –        app.mobile.justflashlight

12.Table Soccer –          com.mobile.tablesoccer

13.Cliff Diver –             com.mobile.cliffdiver

14.Box Stack –              com.mobile.boxstack

15.Jelly Slice –               net.kanmobi.jellyslice

16.AK Blackjack –        com.maragona.akblackjack

17.Color Tiles –             com.maragona.colortiles

18.Animal Match –        com.beacon.animalmatch

19.Roulette Mania –      com.beacon.roulettemania

20.HexaFall –                com.atry.hexafall

21.HexaBlocks –           com.atry.hexablocks

21.PairZap–                  com.atry.pairzap

The Take Away

Firstly, don’t panic. But do take action.

If you think you may have downloaded any of these apps or you’re seeing unexplained data breaches or quicker than usual battery drains, then take a look in your settings and app manager then delete anything from the list above, and any apps you don’t recognize.

Moving forward, it’s important that you read the reviews on your play store portal closely because as much as the Play Store works hard to keep everything safe, there are occasional breaches. The best way to stay safe is to search for more reviews on apps you are interested in, and download individually and monitor the operation of your device before downloading the next app.

Google have removed these apps but as they have been downloaded 22 million times, it’s important to check your device and delete as necessary.

So, if you’re looking for the perfect Watch at the perfect price, from a trusted source, you know it can be a stressful experience, with the right help and advice, you too can find your dream timepiece. As I’m considered an expert in my field and I write for other publications like Wrist Review I know you’ll benefit from my experience and avoid the pitfalls.

Read My Best Discount Watch Stores Reviews

Read The Online Watch Buyers Guide

If you are considering buying online you may be interested in reading the “How to choose a watch for your wrist size” article here.

Did you like this post? If you did, please share or like it so others know about it. If you don’t like it please tell me why. I’d love to know what you think.

carl scutt
carl scutt
Carl's the founder and editor of discountwatchstores.com. His background's in Technology and Internet Marketing. He currently lives in southern Spain. Learn more about him here, and connect with him on Twitter, Facebook, Google+.

About carl scutt

Carl's the founder and editor of discountwatchstores.com. His background's in Technology and Internet Marketing. He currently lives in southern Spain. Learn more about him here, and connect with him on Twitter, Facebook, Google+.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*